Part of the American History & Genealogy Project


My name is Donna Sims Conner and I am pleased to be the AHGP Coordinator for Knox County, Tennessee.  The purpose of AHGP is to provide free genealogical and historical data for researchers.  Individual state and county websites are updated frequently with new content.  The Knox County website contains transcriptions and abstracts of original records and historical photographs.  If you have questions or need assistance, I would be happy to help.  Thank you for visiting!


Join The Project

The AHGP relies on volunteers to grow and maintain our websites.  There are many state and county sites that need coordinators.  We also have positions for special projects including transcriber, editor, photographer and more.  You can also submit genealogical or historical data for any of our sites.  We appreciate your contributions!  


Explore County History

Knox County was created on June 11, 1792, by Governor William Blount from parts of Greene and Hawkins counties, one of the few counties created when the state was still known as the Southwest Territory.  It is named for American Revolutionary War general and first United States Secretary of War, Henry Knox.  


Find Local Resources

  • East Tennessee Historical Society: The mission of the East Tennessee Historical Society is to preserve, promote, and interpret the history of Tennessee, with a focus on East Tennessee.  Lectures, tours, award-winning exhibits, family heritage programs, genealogy classes, and student and teacher education appeal to people of all ages.  This is a free site.
  • Knox County Public Library: The Knox County Public Library is pleased to offer more than one million books, periodicals, compact discs, films, audiobooks and downloadables including one of the premier historical and genealogical collections in the Southeast.  This is a free site.

Visit Our Neighbors

  • Anderson County: It was formed in 1801 from Grainger and Knox counties.  The county seat is Clinton.
  • Blount County: It was established in 1795 from Knox County.  The county seat is Maryville.  The AHGP website coordinator is Paula Franklin.
  • Grainger County: It was created in 1796 from Hawkins and Knox counties.  The county seat is Rutledge.
  • Jefferson County: It was formed in 1792 from Greene and Hawkins counties.  The county seat is Dandridge.
  • Loudon County: It was established in 1870 from portions of Blount, Monroe and Roane counties.  The county seat is Loudon.  The AHGP website coordinator is Paula Franklin.
  • Roane County: It was created in 1801 from Knox County and Native American lands.  The county seat is Kingston.  The AHGP website coordinator is Donna Sims Conner.
  • Sevier County: It was formed in 1794 from Jefferson County.  The county seat is Sevierville.  The AHGP website coordinator is Paula Franklin.
  • Union County: It was established in 1850 from portions of Anderson, Campbell, Claiborne, Grainger and Knox counties.  The county seat is Maynardville.   


  • COPYRIGHT: Knox County Pages is copyright © 2018 by Donna Sims Conner.  All rights reserved.  The information on this site is made available for personal research only.  Commercial use is prohibited.
  • DISCLOSURES: While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of this data, no certifications are made regarding the authenticity or the completeness of any record or material presented.
  • CREDITS: Site search provided by Freefind.  Icons made by Freepik from and licensed by CC 3.0 BY.  This website is generously hosted by Genealogy Village.